A unique renaissance gem
The castle in Litomyšl is a rare example of the adaptation of an Italian Renaissance palace for the conditions of the Transalpine countries. It acquired its current form in the 60s-80s. 16th century thanks to Wroclaw the Magnificent of Pernštejn, who had it adapted as a gift for his beloved wife Maria Manrique de Lara. A unique feature is the preserved chateau family theater from 1797. In 1999, the chateau was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The facade of the castle
The first mention of the castle seat on the site of today's castle is from 981. At that time, Litomyšl was located on the historic trade route Trstenická, which the castle guarded. In 1259, Litomyšl received from King Přemysl Otakar II. city rights and in 1344 here Emperor Charles IV. he founded a new diocese, the second oldest after Prague. Over the years, the castle changed owners and reconstructions took place here, thanks to which we can admire the current appearance of the castle. In 1855, Litomyšl was sold to the last owners of the Thurn-Taxis family, who had it only as an investment and did not make any modifications. Thanks to them, the castle remained in this form. In the 20th century, the state became the owner of the chateau, since 1945 Czechoslovakia, and since 1993 the Czech Republic.
Arcades are typical of the Renaissance. Litomyšl is no exception in this and when entering the courtyard we can admire this architectural element.
Sgraffito decoration is also typical of the Renaissance. In the Litomyšl chateau we can see the so-called envelope sgraffito from the outside and figural or ornamental sgraffito in the courtyard.
The castle can be visited as part of three sightseeing tours. These will introduce you to representation halls or private rooms with 18th century equipment.
The theater at the castle in Litomyšl is the second oldest palace theater in the Czech lands, after Český Krumlov. It was founded in 1797. Members of the count's family and her friends played popular conversational comedies here for the pleasure of themselves and the audience from the city. The theater has been preserved to this day, including stage machinery and lighting equipment.
Church of the Finding of St. Crisis
The church, located near the castle, was built in 1714–1722 by the Italian builder Giovanni Battista Alliprandi. The external and internal sculptural decoration is the work of Matyáš Bernard Braun, among others.
In the Church of the Finding of St. The crosses can also be visited by galleries, where you can walk around the organ and admire the local exhibitions. The interior of the church mixes history with modernity. Modern elements do not seem disturbing here, on the contrary, they give the church a more interesting atmosphere.
Another attraction of the church is the opportunity to climb the roof gallery from where there is a beautiful view of the castle in all its beauty.
Have you been there? Write a review of this place
Already rated by 1 traveler